We Start Fires – Hot Metal/Hipshake (CD Review)

We Start Fires are a UK rock outfit from Darlington who are building on the success of recent slots on the Club NME tour as well as support for Nine Black Alps tour. This latest double A-side is a slick blend of classic US college rock and choppy and angular sound of femrock bands like Erase Errata or early Le Tigre.

The sound is perfectly judged and if they are anything like their recordings live then they should put on furiously sweaty and electric show.

We Start Fires are playing some dates in the next few months, you can catch them here;

  • January 20th Baccaus: DARLINGTON
  • January 27th The Marrs Bar: WORCESTER
  • January 31st The Music Box: MANCHESTER
  • February 14th The Social: NOTTINGHAM
  • February 16th The Red Rooms: NEWCASTLE
  • February 23rd The Cockpit: LEEDS
  • March 3rd New County Arms: NORTHALLERTON
  • March 17th Nottingham Trent Student Union: NOTTINGHAM

Label : Marquis Cha Cha

Release Date : 03 January 2006

Website : www.westartfires.co.uk


  • Hot Metal
  • Hipshake

We Start Fires are Becky on vocals/guitar, Melissa on synths/vocals, Nikki on bass/vocals and token bloke Ashley on drums.

Previous post Merry Christmas from Betweenplanets
Next post Wolfmother – Mind’s Eye (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: