Various – Twisted (CD Review)

This two disk compilation consists mainly of remixes of the current (and not so current; Depeche Mode?) crop of indie acts. The first disk has the accent on the indie whereas the second moves into a more strictly dance area.

There are some excellent tracks here, starting off with a reworking by Mylo of The Killers ‘Somebody Told Me’ that sets the riffs against a house beat with rumbling bass that frames the vocals very nicely. Bodyrockers have contributed a marvellous track that is like Barry White doing a sleazy electro number that has immense energy. One of the least likely to work but really surprised me is Phones remix of The Others that blends their vocal into a dirty house track. There are also downtempo numbers (Portobella), Thirteen Senses sounding a lot like New Order, and the best track The Rapture ever did.

Still not sure what Depeche Mode are doing here?

Buy Twisted from

The second disk begins with Scissor Sisters stripped of some of their high camp but extended brilliantly and moves easily through to Mylo’s ‘Destroy Rock & Roll’, a cut up diatribe against apparently all music of the twentieth century which works obscenely well. A vibe of discopunk returns in the shape of The Rapture (this time remixed by Black Strobe) as well as excellent reinterpretations of Bloc Party, !!! and The Futureheads.

If you were expecting an album of your favourites then you are in for a shock, if however you want to try a varied dance album that pulls influences from all directions then this is for you.

Label : Mercury

Release Date : 16 May 2005

Tracklisting (Disk 1)

  • Somebody Told Me (Mylo Mix) – The Killers
  • An Honest Mistake (Superdiscount Remix) – The Bravery
  • I Like The Way (Full Length Version) – BodyRockers
  • House Of Jealous Lovers – The Rapture
  • This Is For The Poor (Phones Bourgeois Mix) – The Others
  • Viva La Difference (Playgroup Dub Mix) – Portobella
  • Enjoy The Silence (Ewan Pearson Extended Remix) – Depeche Mode
  • E Talking (Tiga’s Disco Drama Remix) – Soulwax
  • Into The Fire (Cicada Remix) – Thirteen Senses

Tracklisting (Disk 2)

  • Comfortably Numb (Paper Faces Mix) – Scissor Sisters
  • Flashdance (Original Club Mix – UK Radio Version) – Deep Dish
  • Destroy Rock & Roll – Mylo
  • Helicopter (Whitey Remix) – Bloc Party
  • Hounds Of Love (Phones’ Wolf At The Door Remix) – The Futureheads
  • Sister Saviour (Blackstrobe Remix) – The Rapture
  • Kinda New (Tiefschwarz Dub) – Spektrum
  • Your So Crazy (Original Mix – Par-T-One V INXS
  • Me And Giuliani Down By The School Yard (LFO Remix) – !!!

Previous post The Duke Sprit – Cuts Across The Land (CD Review)
Next post Bruce Dickinson – Tyranny Of Souls (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: