Various Artists – Exit Music “Songs With Radio Heads” (CD Review)

Themed collections of cover versions rarely work but there are always exceptions and this happily sits as a pleasant oddity. ‘Exit Music’ comprises a set of alternate takes on songs by Radiohead, almost every one taking a lighter approach (well, they would hardly be darker really). There’s a light jazz soul version of ‘High & Dry’, a crooning (but otherwise faithful) take on ‘No Surprises’ and a folktronica take on ‘(nice dream)’ and many more oddities.

Buy Exit Music “Songs With Radio Heads” from Amazon

Buy tickets for Radiohead from

Many of the reworkings are experimental and are the better for trying to take the songs somewhere new. It is the faithful renditions that are worth skipping over, you have after all heard them already. This is worth having for its novelty and its odd moments of brilliance.

Label : Rapster

Release Date : 03 April 2006

Website :


  • Shawn Lee – No Surprises
  • Mark Ronson feat. Alex Greenwald – Just
  • RJD2 – Airbag
  • Matthew Herbert feat. Mara Carlyle – (Nice Dream)
  • The Randy Watson Experience feat. Donn – Morning Bell
  • Sa-Ra feat. The Sa-Ra All Stars – In Limbo
  • Pete Kuzma feat. Bilal – High & Dry
  • The Bad Plus – Karma Police
  • Osunlade & Erro – Everything In Its Right Place
  • The Cinematic Orchestra – Exit Music (For A Film)

Previous post Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Show Your Bones (CD Review)
Next post Franz Ferdinand – The Fallen/L. Wells (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: