Tweaker – 2am Wakeup Call

Tweaker is the new incarnation of Chris Vrenna, a project that began with the album ‘The Attraction To All Things Certain’ after Chris parted company with Nine Inch Nails. ‘2am Wakeup Call’ took its inspiration from Chris’s wife; her insomnia caused her to awake at 2am every night. Chris began, unavoidably, to share in her insomnia. Working with Clint Walsh (The Motels/The Dwarves/Juliette Lewis’ new band) as well as a series of guest vocalists; these include Will Oldham (Palace Brothers/Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy), David Sylvian (Japan), Hamilton Leithauser (The Walkmen) and Robert Smith (The Cure). Each of them have crafted lyrics around insomnia and dreams.

Buy 2am Wakeup Call from Amazon UK

Given the subject matter, it is hardly a shock that there are dark overtones running in rich veins through this album. The music is a rich and theatrical combination of grinding guitars and electronica that glide between gentle dream-like floating and stressed and demonic guitars. While not being your typical bright summer fare, and Chris himself says that this is definitely a night time record, the album does sound great.

European tour dates are to be announced shortly.

Book tickets through

Label : Gut Records

Release Date : 12 July 2004

Website :


  • Ruby (feat. Will Oldham)
  • Cauterized
  • Worse Than Yesterday (feat. Mellowdrone)
  • Truth Is (feat. Robert Smith)
  • Remorseless
  • Pure Genius (feat. David Sylvian)
  • It’s Still Happening (feat. Hamilton Leithauser)
  • 2 a.m.
  • Movement Of Fear
  • Sleepwalking (feat. Nick Young)
  • The House I grew Up In (feat. Johnny Marr)
  • Crude Sunlight (feat. Jennifer Charles)

Search for Tweaker CDs on Amazon

Previous post The Polyphonic Spree – Together We’re Heavy
Next post Sons And Daughters – Love The Cup

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: