Tori Amos – Tales Of A Librarian

From her brilliant debut with ‘Little Earthquakes’ back in 1992 to last years ‘Scarlet’s Walk’ Tori Amos has created a decades worth of uniquely soulful and delicate music. The tunes are delicate only in respect of the fragile sounds that are evoked, it is as it some of them could fall apart at any moment. Vocally though, Tori is poetic and is often as strident as she is exposed. This compilation consists of many songs that are deeply personal and they carry a soulful weight as a result.
The album itself consists of tracks chosen by Tori herself and includes many of the favourites from her catalogue. We have her soul laid bare, especially in the early hits ‘Silent All These Years’, ‘Cornflake Girl’ and ‘Crucify’ amongst many others. It is surprising to hear the Armand Van Helden remix of ‘Professional Widow’ as opposed to the starkly different original version but the contrast is sweet and welcome. This album also features the most brilliantly touching and by far the most disturbing song ever written in my opinion, in ‘Me And A Gun’. Also included are a couple of new tracks ‘Angels’ and ‘Snow Cherries From France’ as well as specially re-recorded versions of rare b-sides ‘Mary’ and ‘Sweet Dreams’.

There are twenty good reasons to own this album listed below, and I cannot recommend them all highly enough to you.

Label : Warner

Release Date : 24 November 2003

Website :

Tracklisting (CD)

  • Precious Things
  • Angels
  • Silent All These Years
  • Cornflake Girl
  • Mary
  • God
  • Winter
  • Spark
  • Way Down
  • Professional Widow
  • Mr. Zebra
  • Crucify
  • Me And A Gun
  • Bliss
  • Playboy Mommy
  • Baker Baker
  • Tear In Your Hand
  • Sweet Dreams
  • Jackie’s Strength
  • Snow Cherries From France

Tracklisting (DVD)

  • Pretty Good Year
  • Honey
  • Northern Lad
  • Putting The Damage On
  • Mr. Zebra

Previous post The White Stripes – The Hardest Button To Button
Next post Matt Harding – Commitment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: