The White Stripes – Elephant

If you’ve been too engrossed by the war to see the charts, read the music press or walk past a record shop recently then you might be unaware that the White Stripes have released a new album. You may also have missed the articles detailing their use of vintage recording techniques or the short amount of recording time they gave themselves. You may even have missed them storming in at number one in the UK charts. If this is true then you should definitely do two things – 1) Stop watching so much news and 2) buy ‘Elephant’.

In harking back to recording methods of yesteryear a patina of old enriches the whole album. The raw, rich and bluesy guitars that scream and croon, while Jack does the same, create an electric mood. It is simply an amazing creation that doesn’t so much pay homage to the past, but starts again where they left off. It’s a triumph of talent over technology, and only goes to show how hollow and empty most new rock albums are. There are no standout tracks on the album because they are all songs that most rock bands doing the rounds right now would kill for. If you think I a laying it on a bit thick then you should buy it and argue with me then. And if this isn’t topping all then end of year polls come Christmas then I’ll jack in this reviewing lark because it will mean I know nothing.

The only track not penned by Jack White features an excellent vocal by Meg and is a Bacarach & David number, ‘I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself’. Starting the album off is the next single, ‘Seven Nation Army’, which will be released soon.

Label : XL Recordings

Release Date : 31 March 2004

Website :


  • Seven Nation Army
  • Black Math
  • There’s No Home For You Here
  • I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself
  • In The Cold, Cold Night
  • I Want To Be The Boy To Warm Your Mother’s Heart
  • You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket
  • Ball And Biscuit
  • The Hardest Button To Button
  • Little Acorns
  • Hyptnotize
  • The Air Near My Fingers
  • Girl, You Have No Faith In Medicine
  • Well It’s True That We Love One Another

  • Previous post mclusky – ‘That Man Will Not Hang’
    Next post The White Stripes – 7 Nation Army

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: