The Southern Electrics – Electric Superhighway (CD Review)

The Southern Electrics are a six piece alternative rock band from South-East London who have been steadily building up a following through their live appearances in the UK, Ireland and Germany. ‘Electric Superhighway’ is the name of the debut album and single (available for download from the band website). The music is a blend of excellent funk bass, space-age keyboards, guitars that echo howling metal solos. All of this is topped off with often earnest lyrics delivered by cracked and rasping singing.

There are some good tracks here; ‘Electric Superhighway’ itself kicks off proceedings with energy and aplomb. ‘Media Coke Whore’ blends in what sounds like an FM radio sweeping empty frequencies that adds an extra level of intensity to the track, while ‘Hypochondriac’ is akin to Radiohead (on ‘Pablo Honey’) but without the swooping falsetto of Thom. The album begins to go awry with tracks like ‘Alien’ and the overly long ‘The Rogues’ Gallery’ which fail to go anywhere.

Label : MI5 Recordings

Release Date : 04 October 2004

Website :


  • Electric Superhighway
  • Save You
  • Go Dirty
  • Blame
  • Alien
  • Skyhigh
  • Media Coke Whore
  • The Rogues’ Gallery
  • Spanish Fly
  • Sirens
  • Hypochondriac
  • Ultramarine

Previous post The Charlatans – Loving You Is Easy
Next post The Others – Lackey (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: