The Shins – So Says I

Having caused a storm on the US indie circuit with their debut album ‘Oh, Inverted World’ the Albuquerque foursome are primed to take on the world with their new album ‘Chutes Too Narrow'(released on the 15th March). Those of you needing a fix before that will be rushing to the shops for copies of ‘So Says I’. The Shins have a sound that is part West Coast, part indie rock that has enough pop to be as catchy as hell. They do this while also managing to create great rock. This single is backed with a couple of songs exclusive to the single. ‘Mild Child’ evokes a sixties sound, slightly folky with an eerie edge. Both of these factors combine to make a mesmeric experience. The second of the tracks unique to the single is an acoustic version of ‘Gone For Good’ that combines simple strumming with catcalls and whooping from the band. It is surprisingly sweet and amusing given its subject matter. All together, The Shins have turned up trumps with this release – It’s a great single.

The Shins are on tour in Europe from April.

  • April 1 Water Rats (London, UK)
  • April 2 All Tomorrow’s Parties
  • April 3 Paradiso (Amsterdam, Holland)
  • April 4 Vera (Groningen, Holland)
  • April 5 AB Club (Brussels)
  • April 6 Glels 22 (Munster, Germany)
  • April 7 Gebaude 9 (Köln, German)
  • April 8 Tanzhalle (Hamburg, Germany)
  • April 9 Mudd Club (Berlin, Germany)
  • April 10 Atomic Cafe (Munich, Germany)
  • April 11 Nachtleben (Frankfurt, Germany)
  • April 15 La Ginguette Pirate (Paris, France)
  • April 16 Motel Musique (Holland)
  • April 18 Cockpit (Leeds, UK)
  • April 19 UNI (Manchester, UK)
  • April 20 King Tuts (Glasgow, Scotland)
  • April 21 Rescue Rooms (Nottingham, UK)
  • April 22 Princess Charlotte (Lelcester, UK)
  • April 23 Concorde 2 (Brighton, UK)
  • April 24 Sh Bush Empire (London, UK)
  • May 22 Roseland Theater (Portland, OR)
  • May 27 Bricks (Salt Lake City, UT)
  • May 29 The Gorge (George, WA)
  • June 18 House of Blues (Chicago, IL)
  • June 19 House of Blues (Chicago, IL)

Book tickets through

Label : Sub Pop Records

Release Date : 1 March 2004

Website : | Official ‘Chutes Too Narrow’ Site


  • So Says I
  • Mild Child
  • Gone For Good (alternate version)

The Shins are James Mercer, Marty Crandall, Jesse Sandoval and Dave Hernandez

Previous post The Open – Close My Eyes
Next post Chicks On Speed – Wordy Rappinghood

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: