The Polyphonic Spree – ”Together We’re Heavy”

The New Album, 12th July

The Polyphonic Spree return this summer with their second album “Together We’re Heavy” and a special London live show. The band, who lit up 2003 with debut “The Beginning Stages Of” and some of the best live shows of the year, release the album through their own Good Records imprint on July 12th.

Pre-order Polyphonic Spree’s ‘Together We’re Heavy’ from Amazon

The Polyphonic Spree were one of the stories of last year, starting the year with a co-headline slot with The Datsuns on the NME Awards tour, winning the NME’s “Award for Innovation” at that year’s ceremony, appearing on CD:UK when unsigned following their departure from 679 Recordings and headlining a sold out Brixton Academy on 4th July. From their first performance at David Bowie’s Meltdown in June of 2002, regarded by The Guardian as evidence of a “truly unique band”, The Polyphonic Spree broke the rules (playing London’s Monarch when all said it couldn’t be done, holding impromptu choir practice in tube trains on the way to photo shoots) and reminded the world that pop music should be fun.

Returning to the USA following triumphant headline slots on the Radio One Stage at Reading and Leeds Festivals, The Polyphonic Spree signed a deal with Hollywood Records and continued to build on the 100,000 sales “The Beginning Stages Of” had already achieved in the States through their own Good Records imprint. Appearances on Jay Leno and, by all accounts, the set of this year’s South By South West, where 2,000 plus fans were locked out as the 10,000 capacity Stubbs Outdoor Barbeque hit bursting point, saw the band repeat the UK scenes in their own backyard. A mammoth support tour with David Bowie in the US followed, Bowie confirming his love of the band upon hearing their version of his “Five Years”, which he “absolutely adored”. The two got on so well that the Spree now join Bowie for his set closer of “Slip Away” every night.

With a headline slot on Lollapalooza beckoning, The Polyphonic Spree will not grace this year’s UK festivals as they did last year. For now, memories of the band’s stunning Glastonbury Pyramid Stage show last year will have to suffice although the Spree will play a very special London show in July, further details will be announced soon.

“Together We’re Heavy” was produced by Tim Delaughter and long term Spree collaborator Eric Drew Feldman. Mixing duties were undertaken by Rich Costey (Muse). Tracklisting for the album is as follows, as with “The Beginning Stages Of”, all tracks have a section number and a title.

    SECTION 11 – “A Long Day Continues” / “We Sound Amazed”
    SECTION 12 – “Hold Me Now”
    SECTION 13 – “Diamonds” / “Mild Devotion to Majesty”
    SECTION 14 – “Two Thousand Places”
    SECTION 15 – “Ensure Your Reservation”
    SECTION 16 – “One Man Show”
    SECTION 17 – “Suitcase Calling”
    SECTION 18 – “Everything Starts at the Seam”
    SECTION 19 – “When the Fool Becomes a King”
    SECTION 20 – Together We’re Heavy”

There is even a Polyphonic Spree game! Click below to play…

Previous post Amp Fiddler – Dreamin’
Next post Sonic Youth – Corporate Ghost

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: