The Polyphonic Spree – The Beginning Stages Of…

A few days ago, seems like weeks now, I saw the Spree cast their magical spell over Glastonbury from the Pyramid stage in the blazing sun. If there ever was a band that suited the special mood of that festival it’s them. They cavorted on stage and cajoled the crown with the evangelical glee and infectious spirit. Resplendent in their matching scarlet robes and huge matching smiles they won over several thousand willing converts.

The Beginning Stages Of… [CD + DVD]

This album, a reissue of their debut, has an additional 4 alternate versions of their most uplifting numbers and an accompanying DVD that features recent concert footage and lots of little gems. If you are unaware of what the Polyphonic Spree sound like then I will start by describing them as a kind of gospel meets, taking in rock and pop along the way. They construct brilliantly complex songs with brilliantly simple lyrics that blend into songs with a force of personality that takes it’s grip on you instantly and would have you sending money to their P.O. Box number. The other thing you should know is that they are over 24 of them complete with a choir and brass section to accompany the keyboards, guitars, bass and harp. All of the songs here are big, theatrical and joyous hymns to no particular faith and only the stoniest of hearts could ever hope to deny them.

Label : 679

Release Date : Out Now

Website :

CD Tracklisting

  • Section 1 (Have A Day/Celebratory)
  • Section 2 (It’s The Sun)
  • Section 3 (Days Like This Keep Me Warm)
  • Section 4 (La La)
  • Section 5 (Middle Of The Day)
  • Section 6 (Hanging Around The Day Part 1)
  • Section 7 (Hanging Around The Day Part 2)
  • Section 8 (Soldier Girl)
  • Section 9 (Light And Day/Reach For The Sun)
  • Section 10 (A Long Day)

  • Bonus Alternate Versions

  • Soldier Girl
  • Hanging Around
  • Light And Day
  • It’s The Sun

  • DVD Tracklisting

  • Live footage of Soldier Girl, Light And Day and Hanging Around (with Jarvis Cocker in the choir)
  • Additional Clips
  • When The Sound Went Down
  • Onstage and Backstage Photo Galleries

  • Previous post Magnus – Summer’s Here
    Next post Falling Stars – Running, Pacing and Learning to Crawl

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: