The Others – Lackey (CD Review)

With their debut album due to hit the shelves at the end of the month and an ongoing tour (details below) The Others are setting themselves up to be the thing for the start of 2005. A new single is just icing on the cake, really. There is no messing about here; ‘Lackey’ announces itself with solid beats and the defiant slouch of disaffected youth. The rasping snarls of Dominic Masters as he rails against the mundanity of low wage subservience to THE MAN is surrounded by spiky guitars and driving bass. All of these things make for a song to scream at your boss as you tell him where to stuff your job, or at least to hum knowingly during staff meetings if you’ve not got the bottle…


Buy Lackey on CD from Amazon or
Buy Lackey on DVD from Amazon here

The Others January 2005 Tour dates are as follows :

Try for tickets

    17 Edinburgh liquid rooms
    18 Manchester academy 3
    19 Leeds Cockpit

    21 Sheffield Leadmill
    22 Norwich Arts Centre
    23 Bristol Fleece
    24 Oxford Zodiac
    25 Birmingham Academy 2
    26 Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
    27 Leicester Charlotte

Label : Poptones/Vertigo

Release Date : 17 January 2005

Website :

Play the game! :

Tracklisting [CD]

  • Lackey
  • King Prawn
  • Neil Armstrong

Tracklisting [DVD]

  • Lackey
  • The Others – The Guerilla Guide To Gigging Part 2 (Abbey Road)

The Others are Dominic Masters on vocals, Johnny Others on bass, Jimmy Lager on guitar and Martin Oldham on drums.

Previous post The Southern Electrics – Electric Superhighway (CD Review)
Next post Roots Manuva – Colossal Insight (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: