The Libertines – The Libertines

This eponymous album from The Libertines is a friction fuelled collection of instantly catchy songs; every one of which could easily be a single. The music’s defiant tones sometimes deflect the heartfelt lyrics. Many of these songs would appear to deal with the troubles that have beset the group and the tone reflects a love and disappointment as a result.


Buy The Libertines from Amazon

The album moves from strident candidness to a mellowed and reflective tone throughout; but not without charm and humour.

Label : Rough Trade Records

Release Date : 30 August 2004

Website :


  • Can’t Stand Me Now
  • Last Post On The Bugle
  • Don’t Be Shy
  • The Man Who Would Be King
  • Music When The Lights Go Out
  • Narcissist
  • The Ha Ha Wall
  • Arbeit Macht Frei
  • Campaign Of Hate
  • What Katie Did
  • Tomblands
  • The Saga
  • Road To Ruin
  • What Became Of The Likely Lads

Previous post Aberfeldy – Young Forever
Next post Armand Van Helden – My My My

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: