The Heights – Jamaica Beer Eyes (CD Review)

The predominantly Welsh (Pearse is from London) rockers The Heights are hoping to top the considerable success of their debut ‘Long Way Home’; a single that has seen them get attention from MTV, play SXSW tour and gain some nice column inches in the music press. ‘Jamaica Beer Eyes’ is a solid rocking number that has a pounding and insistent beat combines with some sharp guitars and a great rock vocal. Put them all together and you have a blinding, fiery, explosion of rock and roll that you can’t help but embrace. The guys get even more bluesy and funky for the B-side ‘Sweet Isabelle’ which makes them sound like stadium gods from the 1970’s. Bliss.

Buy ‘Jamaica Beer Eyes’ from Amazon

Buy tickets for The Heights from

The Heights are on tour, catch them at one of the following dates –

21 Sugarmill Stoke
22 Collesseum Coventry
23 Barfly Cardiff
24 Bangor University
25 Barfly Liverpool
27 Central Station Wrexham
28 Social Nottingham
29 Boardwalk Sheffield
30 Fibbers York

Search for The Heights tickets

02 Pressure Point Brighton
03 Joiners Southampton
05 Barfly Birmingham
06 Barfly London
07 Angel Bedford
08 Moles Bath

Label : Best Before

Release Date : 19 June 2006

Website :

Video: Click to view


  • Jamaica Beer Eyes
  • Sweet Isabelle
  • Kettle Song
  • Jamaica Beer Eyes

The Heights are Owain Ginsberg (Vocals, Guitar), Chris Carr (bass, vocals), Geraint Owen (drums) and Pearse Macintyre (Guitar).

Previous post Nylon – Losing A Friend (CD Review)
Next post Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Turn Into (CD Review)

One thought on “The Heights – Jamaica Beer Eyes (CD Review)

  1. Have to agree that this cd is the cat’s pyjamas. The Heights have such a wonderful style and anyone who likes dancing will be exhausted by them. They are pure gutsiness combined with melody. A great combination!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: