The Eighties Matchbox B-Line Disaster – The Royal Society (CD Review)

The snarling and bass heavy modern day troubadours of punk rock that are the Matchbox Disaster boys have created a second album of tunes that are fiery in their passion and relentless in pace. No punches are pulled here, the assault of guitars starts with their latest single and opening track (the fiercely self affirming ‘Rise Of The Eagles’) and continues to blast away throughout. Even the relatively speaking ‘slow numbers’, like the perverted calliope of ‘Puppy Dog Snails’, are laden with bass and menace. While there are nods to the gothic and pure metal guitar glory you would be struggling not to think of The Damned while listening to ‘Royal Society’, which is no bad thing.


Buy The Royal Society from Amazon

You can catch the Eighties Matchbox B-Line Disaster Live at the following gigs –

  • 28-Oct Sheffield Zero
  • 29-Oct Leeds Cockpit
  • 30-Oct Nottingham Rescue Room
  • 31-Oct Glasgow Garage
  • 1-Nov Liverpool Uni Academy 2
  • 2-Nov Manchester Academy
  • 3-Nov London Astoria

Book tickets from ticketmaster

Label : Island

Release Date : 25 October 2004

Website :


  • Rise Of The Eagles
  • I Could Be An Angle
  • When I Hear You Call My Name
  • Migrate Migraine
  • Puppy Dog Snails
  • The Dancing Girls
  • The Fool
  • I Rejection
  • Drunk On The Blood
  • Mister Mental
  • Freud’s Black Muck
  • Temple Music
  • The Men Of The Way Of The Stuff

Previous post Elliott Smith – From A Basement On The Hill (CD Review)
Next post The Libertines – What Became Of The Likely Lads (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: