The Duke Spirit – Dark Is Light Enough

London based rockers The Duke Spirit, following on from their debut single ‘Bottom Of The Sea’ and the mini-album ‘Roll, Spirit, Roll’, are releasing ‘Dark Is Light Enough’ from their (as yet nameless) debut album proper. They are rock in a raw and driven blues style that they carry off in an infectious and unstoppable fashion. Leila’s vocals sit somewhere comfortably between Martina Topley-Bird and Karen O; they are undeniably rock, but unconventionally gripping.

If there is any justice in the world ‘Dark Is Light Enough’ will be a massive hit.

The Duke Spirit are touring with The Eighties Matchbox B-Line Disaster, catch them both at the following venues –

Book tickets through


  • 2 Brighton Concorde 2
  • 3 Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
  • 4 Stoke Sugarmill
  • 5 venue tbc London
  • 14 Kerrang FM launch Birmingham Academy
  • 27 Glastonbury second stage, late pm


  • 6 Switzerland Montreaux Jazz Festival (with PJ Harvey, BRMC)


  • 28 Reading, Radio 1 stage
  • 29 Leeds, Radio 1 stage

Buy The Duke Spirit CDs from Amazon

Label : Loog

Release Date : 31 May 2004

Website :


  • Dark Is Light Enough
  • You Were Born Inside My Heart
  • Boot Hill (Demo)

The Duke Spirit are Luke Ford (guitar), Leila Moss (vocals), Dan Higgins (guitar), Olly ‘The Kid’ Betts (drums) and Toby Butler (bass).

Previous post Scarlet Soho – Disconnected
Next post Emma – Crickets Sing For Anamaria

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: