The Detroit Cobras – Seven Easy Pieces

The Detroit Cobras UK debut is a septet of obscure covers recast in Detroit garage rock. Ex-butcher and erotic dancer Rachel Nagy provides lead vocal screams and grunts with panache and gusto. Imagine Chrissie Hyde meets Karen O and you’re close enough for jazz. ‘Seven Easy Pieces’ is a bluesy, soulful, rocking mix that evokes the motor city sound of old with ease and charm, immediacy and timelessness.

Buy 7 Easy Pieces EP from Amazon

If you like Motown, if you like garage rock, and if you like songs you can scream along to, you cannot but love The Detroit Cobras. Listen out for the sessions on XFM and John Peel coming soon and try to get to the live show at The Astoria (supporting The Libertines) on February 12th.

Label : Rough Trade Records

Release Date : 10 March, 2003

Website : “


  • Ya Ya Ya
  • Secret Agent
  • Heartbeat
  • You don’t Knock
  • Silver And Gold
  • 99 And A Half Won’t Do
  • Insane Asylum

  • Previous post Ciccone – Eversholt Street
    Next post The Detroit Cobras – Cha Cha Twist

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: