The Chalatans – Up At The Lake

The psychedelic sounds of The Charlatans are back in force with a new album and meaty tour schedule. Their sixth album will, if recent history is anything to go by, be flying off the shelves and up the charts. They have an optimistic folk sound about them, mixing it in with the old fashioned indie, the floaty West Coast vocals, and twanging guitars. This album is not an attention grabber though; it may grow on you but I doubt it will be blowing you away any time soon.

'Up At The Lake' Album Cover

‘Feel The Pressure’ stands out for me – it is funked up and energised in comparison to the laid back sounds of the rest of the ‘Up At The Lake’. This isn’t surprising when you realise that the Chemical Brothers were brought in to produce it (incidentally, we can look forward to a Charlatan or two appearing on the next Chemicals album). Coming a close second is the whirling guitars in the more rock and roll track ‘Apples And Oranges’, which provides a much needed kick to the end of the album.

The Charlatans are on tour; catch them at one of the following dates –

Book tickets through

May 2004

  • 22 Keele University
  • 23 Aberdeen Music Hall
  • 24 Glasgow Academy
  • 25 Glasgow Academy
  • 27 Manchester Carling Apollo
  • 28 Manchester Carling Apollo
  • 29 Liverpool University
  • 31 Leicester De Montfort Hall

June 2004

  • 01 Nottingham Rock City
  • 03 Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall
  • 04 London Carling Apollo Hammersmith
  • 05 Brighton Dome
  • 06 Bristol Carling Academy
  • 08 Newcastle Northumbria Uni
  • 09 Doncaster Dome
  • 10 Birmingham Carling Academy
  • 11 Newport Centre
  • 13 Isle Of Wight Festival
  • 20 Fleadh Festival, Finsbury Park, London

July 2004

  • 17 Dragon Festival, Oporto Dragon Stadium, Portugal

August 2004

  • 5-8 Benicassim Festival
  • 21 V Festival, Hylands Park, Chelmsford
  • 22 V Festival, Weston Park, Staffordshire

Book tickets through

Label : Universal/Island

Release Date : 17 May 2004

Website :


  • Up At The Lake
  • Feel The Pressure
  • As I Watch You In Disbelief
  • Cry Yourself To Sleep
  • Bona Fide Treasure
  • High Up Your Tree
  • Blue For You
  • I’ll Sing A Hymn (You Came To Me)
  • Loving You Is Easy
  • Try Again Today
  • Apples And Oranges
  • Dead Love

Buy The Chalatans CDs from Amazon

Previous post Morrissey – You Are The Quarry
Next post Muse – Sing For Absolution

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: