The Blueskins – Word Of Mouth

Fresh faced Northern rockers The Blueskins release their debut album having already wowed us with ‘The Magic Rd. EP’ and ‘User Friendly’, performances at Reading and Leeds and in support of the Fiery Furnaces, John Squire and The Stands. The Yorkshire lads have been working hard and it shows.

The Blueskins sound includes frantic blues rock, almost psychobilly in places, and the occasional off kilter pop rock like the brilliant ‘Ellie Meadows’. The sounds may be borrowed from the rock of the sixties and seventies but the way they are used is anything but dated. The passion, enthusiasm and sheer quality comes through in every note. Songs like ‘My Love Is Law’ rock hard and fast while ‘Change My Mind’ manages to cram the same power into the twangs of surf rock. There are no fillers on ‘Word Of Mouth’, each track will get you going and wanting more.

Label : Domino

Release Date : 26 April 2004

Website :

Tracklisting (the order may change)

  • Bad Day
  • Stupid Ones
  • Change My Mind
  • Girl
  • My Love Is Law
  • Go
  • Ellie Meadows
  • Love Boat
  • Tell Me I’m Someone
  • Take Me Home
  • Magpie Blues

The Blueskins are Ryan Spendlove (Vocals/guitar), Maff Smith(Bass), Paul Brown (Drums) and Richie Townsend (Guitar).

Previous post Sluts Of Trust – We Are All Sluts Of Trust
Next post Dogs Die In Hot Cars – Godhopping

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: