SOURCElabs – 16 Classiques de 1995 –  2002 – album review

Back in 1995 Source released their first compilation album, Sourcelab 1, calling in favours from the new downtempo French artists that had come to the fore in the 90’s. Two more compilations followed, Sourcelab 2 and 3, featuring the now internationally successful laid back electronic pioneers like Air and Daft Punk. This album is the distillation of the best of those compilations.

This collection has jazz tinged sixties echoes alongside brooding urban menace, soul snippets and funk riffs, scratching and samples galore. From the sweet beginnings of ‘Espéce Funk’ through to the disco madness of Daft Punk there is a barely a common thread between the tracks, but nonetheless, the whole album manages to gel into a magnificent whole.

’16 Classiques…’ is a fine primer if you want to get into downtempo and an excellent buy if you already are. The UK version of the album also comes with an additional disk of bonus material from current Source artists.

Label : SOURCE

Release Date : 27 January 2003



  • DJ Gilb’r – Especefuink

  • Air – Modulor Mix

  • Daphreephunkateerz – Nuphunk

  • Motorbass – Bad Vibes

  • La Chatte Rouge – Ecouter Fumer

  • Alex Gopher – Mandrake

  • Main Basse Sur La Ville – Hunt One Connection

  • Daft Punk – Musique (version longue)


  • Alex Gopher – Gordini Mix

  • Air – Casanova 70 (Brendan Lynch Mix)

  • Chateau Flight – Mondorama

  • I:cube – Power Sandwich

  • Scratch-Pet-Land – Post-It

  • Le Tone – Jean-Jacques Et Les Dauphins

  • Mozesli – Sunshine

  • Black Strobe – Paris Acid City

Previous post Liars – They Threw Us All In A Trench And Stuck A Monument On Top – album review
Next post Singles Reviews – 3 November 2003

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: