Roots Manuva – Awfully Deep (CD Review)

The term “difficult third album” is often bandied about as if no artists have more than 20 or so songs in them. It would be a truly ignorant person though, who failed to acknowledge the events that have shaped Roots Manuva’s third offering – most notably a near breakdown, which saw him placed in a recovery clinic by his management, something he touches on in the album’s title track and on Too Cold.

In the grand scheme of things, though, this stuff of tabloid headlines is not the main attraction to Awfully Deep. Aside from Manuva’s obvious skills as a rapper, the music stands out as some of the most carefully assembled in UK hip hop with much of the emphasis placed on melody rather than beats.


Buy Awfully Deep from Amazon

Once you add on top of this a vocal style like no other, this turns frm a difficult third album to a triumph, one which may finally draw in the recognition Roots Manuva deserves.

Read more from Indigo Flow
Label: Big Dada
Release date: 31st January 2005


  1. Mind 2 Motion
  2. Awfully Deep
  3. Cause For Pause Pt. 1
  4. Colossal Insight
  5. Too Cold
  6. A Haunting
  7. Rebel Heart
  8. Chin High
  9. Babylon Medicine
  10. Cause For Pause Pt. 2
  11. Move Ya Loin
  12. Thinking
  13. The Falling
  14. Toothbrush

Previous post Athlete – Tourist (CD Review)
Next post Twin Zero – Monolith (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: