Piney Gir – Peakanokahoo

Born in Kansas, Piney Gir’s father, a puritanical Pentecostal minister, banned popular culture from his daughter’s youth. Until 1989 she had no access to TV, films or pop music, so when she fled the confines of her family Piney, as you can probably imagine, began absorbing entertainment at a rapid rate.

Now living in London she has put to good use the information she has taken in over the last 15 years to create an album diverse in styles, ranging from electronica to rock to country to jazz and features a dark rewrite of Que Sera Sera and an insane cover of My Generation.

Buy Peakahokahoo from Amazon

Fans of Simple Kid may be interested to know that he and Piney once formed a duo. Mr Kid makes an appearance on one track on Peakahokahoo, Nightsong. You can also find Piney performing with post punk doo wop girls The Scha La Las.

Read more from Indigo Flow

Label: Truck
Release date: 5th July 2004


  • Boston
  • Que Sera Sera
  • Girl
  • Creative
  • My Generation
  • La La La
  • Greetings Salutations Goodbye
  • K-I-S-S-I-N-G
  • Sweet
  • Nightsong
  • Ruth Is Coming To America
  • Jezebel
  • Janet Schmanet
Previous post Modest Mouse – Float On
Next post The Legends – Up Against The Legends

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: