Peter DiStefano – Gratitude

Peter DiStefano is best known as the guitarist from Porno For Pyros, the band he set up with Jane’s Addiction members Perry Farrell and Stephen Perkins after that band’s original demise in the early nineties. The sound of this, his third solo album, is instantly recognisable of the LA heroin scene led by bands like Jane’s and the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

“From 1992 to 1997,” says DiStefano, “my priorities in life were heroin, women and Porno For Pyros – in that order.” Having been sober and free of drugs for almost seven years and come through a battle with testicular cancer, he is now able to look back at where he has been and be happy with where he is. That, in essence, is what this album is all about.

As you might expect, Gratitude maintains a lot of the jangly pop sound of Porno For Pyros and remains upbeat throughout, despite the often despondent subject matter. The sound also lingers firmly in the nineties with some riffs recognisable from other songs of that era. While very catchy, some of the songs do grate a little and DiStefano’s lyrics are not always of a very high standard. Perhaps fortunately, the album is finished in a little over 30 minutes, leaving before it outstays its welcome – but only just.

Read more from Indigo Flow
Label: Sanctuary
Release date: 17th May 2004


  • Hypocrises
  • New Day Clear
  • Coming Down
  • Sunshine
  • Last Time
  • My Sweet Tooth
  • Starry Eyes
  • Poisons Slight Return
  • Diminished
  • Alone

Buy Peter DiStefano CDs from Amazon

Previous post Cherryfalls – For All My Sins
Next post Sixtoo – Chewing On Glass And Other Miracle Cures

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: