Mommy And Daddy – Live How You Listen

The duo that is Mommy and Daddy, punk rock diva Vivian Sarratt and equally punk rock rage machine Edmond Hallas, have surfed on a recent wave of success in New York and are now treating us in the UK to their debut album. Their combination of angular, and often sultry, art punk vocals, jagged guitars and discordant keyboards create a sound part way between no wave and discopunk – Imagine a collaboration between Ladytron, Le Tigre and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and you’d be part of the way there. Vivian and Edmond sing with a sassy, staccato delivery punctuated by yelps of pain and pleasure that mirror the glitchy keyboards and dirty raw bass. They have a distilled yet uncontrived coolness and a full sound with an apparent lack of complexity. ‘Live How You Listen’ is a blinding debut and a must have.

Mommy And Daddy are touring UK right now with The Wannadies, pick a date below and get your tickets from the links above.

  • September 22 – University Manchester
  • September 23 – Mill Preston
  • September 24 – Academy 2 Liverpool
  • September 25 – University Hull
  • September 26 – Cockpit Leeds
  • September 27 – Leadmill Sheffield
  • September 29 – Academy 2 Birmingham
  • September 30 – Waterfront Norwich
  • October 1 – Charlotte Leicester
  • October 2 – Mean Fiddler London
  • October 4 – Fez Club Reading
  • October 5 – Wedgewood Rooms Portsmouth
  • October 6 – Concorde Brighton
  • October 8 – Junction Cambridge
  • October 10 – Barfly Cardiff
  • October 11 – Zodiac OxfordLabel : Big Cat

    Release Date : 25 August 2003

    Website :

    Track listing

  • X Factor
  • What Is The Function?
  • Seek You
  • Outside
  • Together
  • Roundhouse Robot
  • The Meeting
  • I Mean, Could He Buy Me This
  • Beachy
  • Fill In The Lines
  • Disguise
  • Take It!
Previous post Jeffrey Lewis – The Last Time I Did Acid I Went Insane (And Other Favorites)
Next post Amplifier – Amplifier

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: