MJ Hibbett & The Validators – Warriors Of Nanpantan (CD Review)


I am tempted to stop there but feel some of you may need more persuasion.

This collection of recordings covering the period from 1997 to 2004 and contains early works, b-sides as well as previously internet only and recently deleted singles. This is billed to those who own the entire back catalogue as ‘The Rest Of MJ Hibbett & The Validators’. The earlier recording are of a slightly lesser quality but this does little to diminish the enjoyment to be gained by listening to them.

Each of these songs has the characteristic wit and aplomb that fans of Mr Hibbett will know from old. The subject matter ranges from the classics of love and jealousy (‘The Perfect Love Story’, ‘Another Mans Laundry’) through the absurdities, large and small, of life in general (‘Red And White Sockets’) to stories that easily echo the lives of listeners (‘Clubbing In The Week’, ‘The Same Page Of The Map’). The humour and resonance of many of the songs allows an instant recognition and empathy. ‘Warriors of Nanpantan’ is a fine collection of great songs.

Or as I said earlier; it is ACE.

This album is available online through the The MJ Hibbett Online Emporium.

Label : Artists Against Success

Release Date : 07 February 2005

Website : www.mjhibbett.com


  • Work’s All Right (If It’s A Proper Job)
  • Clubbing In The Week
  • Fucking Hippy
  • Red And White Sockets
  • Another True Story
  • The Perfect Love Song
  • We’ll See What We Can Do
  • Ring Your Mother
  • Mr Right
  • Friday 13
  • Before I Was Cool
  • The Peterborough All-Saints Wide Game Team (Group B)
  • Family Wedding 2021
  • Another Man’s Laundry (Hanging On Your Line)
  • The Only Thing
  • Leave My Brother Alone
  • Hibbett’s Golden Rules Of Beer
  • I’ve Got What You Need
  • Walkman In My Head
  • The Same Page Of The Map
  • Rock & Roll Mayhem
  • Dinky Doo

PLUS – There are also extras if you slot the CD into your computer including lyrics, sleevenotes, the complete ‘Fair Play Trophy Sessions’ recorded on Steve Lamaq’s 6Music show, and also video footage.

Buy it here – The MJ Hibbett Online Emporium

Previous post Moving Units – Dangerous Dreams (CD Review)
Next post Emiliana Torrini – Sunny Road (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: