Minus The Bear – Highly Refined Pirates

Those of you who were once fans of Kill Sadie and Sharks Keep Moving will probably need no introduction to Minus The Bear (the band formed out of their ashes). The other 99% of you will probably be blissful unaware of them. Now, I’m sure you’re aware that it’s not going to be possible for you to hear every band in the world before you die, so some of the more obscure ones will have to fall by the wayside. However, if you ignore this one it will be a tragedy and when your time finally comes you will die incomplete.

Buy Highly Refined Pirates from Amazon
Minus The Bear make quirky indie pop rock, though not as quirky as the song titles would suggest. Highly Refined Pirates is instantly accessible, beautifully written and a joy to listen to. The album also contains some of the most innovative guitar world I’ve heard in a long time.

Read more from Indigo Flow

Label: Undergroove
Websites: www.minusthebear.com | www.undergroove.co.uk
Release date: 9th August 2004

Track list:

  • Thanks For The Killer Game Of Crisco Twister
  • Monkey!!! Knife!!! Fight!!!
  • Absinthe Party At The Fly Honey Warehouse
  • Hey, Wanna Thrown Up?
  • Get Me Naked 2: Electric Boogaloo
  • We Are Not A Football Team
  • You Kill Bugs Good, Man
  • Spritz!!! Spritz!!!
  • Women We Haven’t Met Yet
  • Damn Bugs Whacked Him, Johnny
  • I Lost All My Money At The Cock Fights
  • Andy Wolff
  • Let’s Play Guitar In A Five Guitar Band
  • Booyah Achieved
  • Drop It Like It’s Hot
  • You’re Some Sort Of Big, Fat, Smart-Bug, Aren’t You?
Previous post The Libertines – Can’t Stand Me Now
Next post Agent Blue – Something Else

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: