Massive Attack – Butterfly Caught (Archive Review)

Massive Attack’s return with ‘100th Windows’, and the singles taken from it has been treated with unfair harshness by the music press. ‘Butterfly Caught’ and the remixes included are fine examples of the ever evolving sound that is Massive Attacks stock and trade. This is still dark and eerie – although a relative party tune compared with most of ‘Mezzanine’ – urban trip hop of the highest order. The otherworldly strains of Arabic strings build tension while the dreamlike, dejected vocals and persistent bass and beats enhance the mood further.


Buy Butterfly Caught from Amazon

There are a few mixes to choose from as well – Jagz Kooner adds a more drum n’ bass edge which only serves to make the whole sound more menacing while RJD2 deconstructs it brilliantly. The Paul Daley remix adds a progressive early dance vibe while keeping the eerie string section to great effect and Octave One switch bass lines and turn the track completely on it’s head.

Label : Virgin

Release Date : 16 June 2003

Website :


  • Butterfly Caught (Radio Edit)
  • Butterfly Caught (Album Version)
  • Butterfly Caught (Jagz Kooner Remix)
  • Butterfly Caught (RJD2 Remix)
  • Butterfly Caught (Paul Daley Remix)
  • Butterfly Caught (Octave One Remix)
  • Previous post Massive Attack – Special Cases (Archive Review)
    Next post (X) IS GREATER THAN (Y) – Negative Snow (Archive Reviews)

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: