Marshmallow – Marshmallow (CD Review)

Marshmallow, otherwise known as Alan Gregg (ex of The Mutton Birds and Bic Runga), are New Zealand’s answer to The Charlatans and Teenage Fanclub. ‘Marshmallow’ was created after a year’s work in Stoke Newington and this debut solo album can be summed up by its downhearted tone and unimposing disposition. The lilting, strum-fuelled and lightly floating pop often carries a tale of woe or disappointment.


Buy Marshmallow from Amazon

Overall this pleasant summertime sound, softly sung and sweetly arranged, is a good background album. The west coast influenced undulating country rock doesn’t demand attention and can easily waft over the listener without leaving a trace.

Label : Active

Release Date : 07 February 2005

Website :


  • Anytime Soon
  • Come Sunday
  • Scooter Girl
  • Snow
  • Do The Decent Thing
  • Interlude
  • Let Me Love You
  • Casting Couch
  • Open Mic Night
  • Over & Done
  • The Ballad Of Wendy Deng
  • Born Again
  • Later On

Previous post M83 – Don’t Save Us From The Flames (CD Review)
Next post Moving Units – Dangerous Dreams (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: