Loretta Lynn – Van Lear Rose

Loretta Lynn, one of country music’s most prolific (seventy albums, fifty five top ten singles, twenty seven of those getting to number one as well as her bestselling autobiography ‘Coal Miner’s Daughter’ under her belt), influential and award winning artists. She certainly won over Jack White, who has been taking every chance to sing her praises. It must have been a dream come true for him to produce this album as well as perform on it.

‘Van Lear Rose’ shows, through the stories in the songs, aspects of Loretta. She suffers no fools, is no stranger to poverty and suffering, loss and regret, or great songwriting. The music itself has more than a little Stripes in the mix, making it rock behind the melodic vocals; but is still definitely Country and none the worse for that. Loretta herself has said this is ‘The songs are country but a little bit different’. There is a depth of character, a wealth of songwriting skill and a treasure chest of great songs on this album. If you don’t listen to it then it will be your great loss.

Label : Interscope

Release Date : 03 May 2004

Website : www.lorettalynn.com


  • Van Lear Rose
  • Portland Oregon (Duet with Jack White)
  • Trouble On The Line
  • Family Tree
  • Have Mercy
  • High On A Mountain Top
  • Little Red Shoes
  • God Makes No Mistakes
  • Women’s Prison
  • This Old House
  • Mrs. Leroy Brown
  • Miss Being Mrs.
  • Story Of My Life

Previous post Animal Collective – Sung Tongs
Next post Living Things – Black Skies In Broad Daylight

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: