Josh Wink – Profound Sounds v2

Josh Wink, from his base in Philadelphia, hardly needs any introduction as he is already an internationally renowned DJ, producer, remixer (Depeche Mode, Ladytron, Paul Oakenfold, Radiohead, etc) and is the owner of Ovum records. ‘Profound Sounds v2’ is a long awaited sequel to the original ‘Profound Sound’, released in 1999. Wink unashamedly declares volume 1 to be his favourite album of all time, he just happened to make it himself. Volume 2 is a departure from the norm for mix albums. Rather than taking the traditional approach of selecting contender songs and mixing them into an album what Wink decided to do was take the tracks and remix them individually before then mixing the whole album together live. If you like, he has stamped his style on these records twice.


This album is a cocktail of house, techno and Latin beats. All the tracks definitely bear the Josh Winks hallmark; his imprint is unmistakable and all pervasive. The switch from a classic house sound to a theme of Latin based tracks for the last mile of this album gives a boost to the energy levels until there is a return to techno for the closing number of Dave Clarke’s ‘Compass’

The second CD contains tracks that were previously only available on vinyl – including an excellent reworking of Lil Louis’s ‘French Kiss’ (‘How’s Your Evening So Far?’) and Range Of Motion’s ‘What U Mean To Me’, as well as two of the mans own creations ‘Evil Acid’ and ‘Superfreak (Freak)’. There is also bonus content that gives interviews and studio footage for those wanting a greater insight into how this album was made.

Buy Josh Wink’s – Profound Sounds v2 from Amazon

Label : Ovum

Release Date : 14 June 2004

Website :

CD1 Tracklisting

  • Form Is Emptiness – Swayzak
  • Interrupt – Timeblind
  • Tracks for a Weirder Day [Joshua Main Mix] – Rithma
  • Superfreak (Freak) [Blakkat Remix] – Josh Wink
  • What You Say Is More Than I Can Say – Villalobos
  • Lick – Mindlab
  • Make a Move – Minimal Man
  • Oakish – Josh Wink
  • Yard Work – Barada
  • Auburn – David Alvarado
  • Rilis 6 Loop 2 – Rino Cerrone
  • Late Night EP – Mr. G
  • E Series 2 – Frankie Bones
  • Future Primitive – Johannes Heil
  • Confined [UK Gold Remix] – UK Gold
  • Compass [Wink South Philly Acid Pass] – Dave Clarke
  • The Word – Aaron Carl (used over Rillis 6 Loop 2 and Late Night Ep)

CD2 Tracklisting

  • How’s Your Evening So Far? – Josh Wink feat Lil Louis
  • Evil Acid – Josh Wink
  • Superfreak (Freak) – Josh Wink
  • What U Mean to Me [Wink Remix] – Range Of Motion
  • + Bonus content

Previous post Magnus – The Body Gave You Everything
Next post David R Black – Trinity

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: