Jeffrey Lewis – The Last Time I Did Acid I Went Insane (And Other Favorites)

This is a collection of the fine songwriting talent of Jeffrey Lewis. There are stories of almost love, drug fuelled madness, streams of consciousness, and comforting words. All of these are told with a rare wit and humour.

There are songs tracing the path from singledom (‘The East River’), through missed opportunity (The Chelsea Hotel Oral Sex Song) and gleefully rubbing it in to the ex (‘Another Girl’). Alongside these are cautionary tales like ‘The Last Time I Did Acid I Went Insane’ and humorous takes on the world as a whole (‘Life’).

‘The Chelsea Hotel Oral Sex Song’ deserves special attention here. It is a tale of a brief meeting between Jeffrey and an unknown woman, a conversation about oral sex, Leonard Cohen and the aforementioned hotel, which expands to a funny and touchingly comforting conceit that Jeffrey himself only half believes. It has an attention to silly little detail and an honesty that is superbly told and beautifully accompanied.

Label : Rough Trade Records

Release Date : Out Now

Website :

MP3’s at :


  • The East River
  • Another Girl
  • Seattle
  • The Chelsea Hotel Oral Sex Song
  • Amanda Is A Scalape
  • Heavy Heart
  • The Last Time I Did Acid I Went Insane
  • The Man With The Golden Arm
  • Springtime
  • Life
  • Previous post Erase Errata – Other Animals
    Next post Mommy And Daddy – Live How You Listen

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: