Jazzanova & Gilles Peterson – The Kings Of Jazz (CD Review)

Now, cards on the table here – I don’t get sent, or personally collect jazz records. I have nothing against in but I have only got two ears and the same number of hours in the day as you do. In many ways it is exactly people like me that compilations like ‘The Kings of…’ series are made for. They provide a way in to a whole genre through key artists and can fuel the start of a great and passionately maintained collection. Indeed, the first CD curated by Giles Peterson has a collection of traditional Jazz artists from the ’40s to the ’80s and has given me several ideas on artists I’d like to get to know better.

Buy ‘The Kings Of Jazz’ from Amazon

I fared less well with the second disk that is curated by Jazzanova. This disk concentrated on modern offshoots of jazz and contains a lot of luxuriously overproduced soul tracks that got my back up. This is of course just me – if you are a fan of acts like Amp Fiddler, Sade or eighties pop soul then this could be a real eye-opener for you.

If you want to know more about jazz then this is an excellent primer and is bound to have something to excite you, as it did me.

Label : Rapster

Release Date : 20 March 2006

Website : www.rapsterrecords.com/kingsofjazz


    Buy ‘The Kings Of Jazz’ from Amazon
    UK ¦ US

    DISK 1

  • Donald Byrd – Cristo Redentor [5:42]
  • Clifford Brown_Max Roach Quintet – George’s Dilemma [5
  • Roy Haynes – Quiet Fire [8:15]
  • Rahsaan Roland Kirk – Spirits Up Above [3:37]
  • Charles Mingus – Moves [3:43]
  • Arthur Blythe – Autumn In New York Part One [3:01]
  • Mark Murphy – My Favourite Things [2:15]
  • Lee Konitz – Five, Four And Three [3:34]
  • The Jazz Crusaders – Young Rabbits [3:38]
  • Art Blakey – Anthenagin [11:57]
  • John Coltrane – Equinox [8:34]
  • Bill Evans – Peace Piece [6:42]DISK 2
  • 4 Hero – Spirits In Transit [5:28]
  • [re_jazz] – Inner City Life [6:39]
  • Nikki O – Butterflies [4:46]
  • Jeffrey Smith – Afro Blue [7:10]
  • Sleep Walker feat. Bembe Segue – Into The Sun (KJM Edit) [4
  • Two Banks Of Four – One Day [6:27]
  • The Five Corners Quintet – Trading Eights [5:21]
  • Shaun Escofferey – Breaking Away (Koop Remix) [3:47]
  • Bembe Segue – Mother Of The Future (Live Version) [10:58]
  • Soil & _Pimp_ Sessions – Waltz For Goddess [4:28]
  • United Future Organisation – Loud Minority [4:55]
  • Sunaga T Experience – No Reason No Rhyme (Nicola Conte play
  • The Matthew Herbert Big Band – Everything’s Changed [4:43]

Previous post M. Craft – Silver & Fire / You Are The Music (7” Review)
Next post Jeniferever – Choose A Bright Morning (Drowned In Sound Recordings)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: