Howie Beck – Howie Beck (CD Review)

Canadian singer songwriter Howie Beck has recorded his first new material in five years to include in his latest album. The eponymous collection is a lavishly produced and melody fuelled affair. The intimacy of the lyrics and the ease with which they appear to be sung create an enveloping air of emotion.

Buy ‘Howie Beck’ from Amazon

Buy tickets for Howie Beck from

The heart string tugging strings on tracks like ‘How Do You Feel’ are almost too lavish and the general tone of the album is like David Poe and quite a few other male singer songwriters. It is a style that you either love or loathe. Howie Beck sometimes takes it a bit far and the songs can seem lost in an overproduced assault of elements. Despite that there interesting tracks that make up for it and are worth enjoying.

Label : Ever

Release Date : 13 February 2006

Website :

Video Stream : Sometimes


  • Alice [2:20]
  • Sometimes (she’s so far in) [4:02]
  • My Low [2:35]
  • Zombie Girl [3:58]
  • Don’t Be Afraid [2:27]
  • The Books Beside Her Bed [2:17]
  • How Do You Feel [3:55]
  • We Waited [3:22]
  • Everybody Sold Out [3:23]
  • Please [3:04]
  • I Need Light [3:18]
  • Floating [4:07]
  • Lay Down [5:32]

Previous post Beth Orton – Comfort Of Strangers (CD Review)
Next post Speedreader – In A Way We’re All Winners (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: