Franz Ferdinand – You Could Have It So Much Better (CD Review)

Franz Ferdinand have been having praise lavished upon them since the release of their first single. The massive success of the following album and the tours and festivals have got them a faithful legion of fans. Now it is time for the second album, a point in a career where it can all go so wrong, so quickly, so terminally.

I am happy to say that Franz have managed to avoid those pitfalls and have created a album that is far more accomplished than their debut. It has more energy and drive, great tunes from start to finish, humour and pathos; everything you want from an album in fact. There is a cocky swagger to the this album that only works because the songs are so good. The new sound is a blend of feisty indie, nods towards the Beatles (I can’t hear ‘Do You Want To’ without thinking of Paul McCartney), echoes of Morrissey at his least grumpy arsed self, and I think ‘Eleanor Put Your Boots On’ could be a lost Kinks track (However nobody I say that to agrees with me).

Buy You Could Have It So Much Better from
Buy You Could Have It So Much Better from

I was expecting not to get on with this album. I quite liked some of the first album but not enough to have high expectations about ‘You Could Have It So Much Better’. I’ll put my hands up, I was dead wrong.

Label : Domino

Release Date : 03 October 2005

Website :


  • The Fallen
  • Do You Want To
  • This Boy
  • Walk Away
  • Evil And A Heathen
  • You’re The Reason I’m Leaving
  • Eleanor Put Your Boots On
  • Well That Was Easy
  • What You Meant
  • I’m Your Villain
  • You Could Have It So Much Better
  • Fade Together
  • Outsiders

Previous post Envelopes – Sister In Love (CD Review)
Next post John Cale – blackAcetate (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: