Franz Ferdinand – Franz Ferdinand

Riding high on the back of a brace of well-received singles (namely ‘Darts Of Pleasure’ and ‘Take Me Out’) is the debut full length from the Scottish four-piece. The album is synthesis of the Sounds of the Suburbs, great eighties guitar pop and bursts of classic indie college rock. You can add to that an all-embracing party vibe that really works (as opposed to being as naff as that sounds). In addition to the well known singles there is a fine array of upbeat rockers amongst these tracks; The album opener ‘Jacqueline’ draws you in with its soft beginning before the guitars hit and the catchy chorus has you hooked, while ‘Cheating On You’ will have you up and strutting your stuff before you know what you are doing. Franz Ferdinand have already been hailed as the ones to watch in 2004 and it is easy to hear why.

Franz Ferdinand are touring this year, you can catch them at the following venues.


  • 12th Glasgow QMU
  • 13th Glasgow QMU
  • 15th Liverpool Academy
  • 17th Sheffield Leadmill
  • 18th Notingham Rescue Rooms
  • 20th Leeds Blank Canvas
  • 21st Birmingam Academy 2
  • 26th Brighton Concorde
  • 27th Norwich Waterfront
  • 29th Edinburgh Liquid Rooms
  • 30th Manchester Academy


  • 1st Oxford Brookes University
  • 2nd Bristol University
  • 4th Portsmouth Pyramid
  • 5th London Astoria
  • 6th London Astoria
  • 7th London Coronet Elephant & Castle

Label : Domino

Release Date : 9 February 2004

Website :


  • Jacqueline
  • Tell Her Tonight
  • Take Me Out
  • Matinee
  • Auf Acshe
  • Cheating On You
  • This Fire
  • Darts Of Pleasure
  • Michael
  • Come On Home
  • 40 ft

Previous post Belle & Sebastian – I’m A Cuckoo – The Game
Next post Lambchop – Aw C’mon / No You C’mon

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: