Fatboy Slim – Greatest Hits – Why Try Harder (CD Review)

What can you say about a greatest hits album containing songs that nearly every reader will have heard before? Scratch that – every reader must have danced to, if not sung along to? Well, I suppose I just have to remind you all. Norman Cook’s transformation from Housemartin through Beats International into Fatboy Slim was nothing short of remarkable. An indie boy done very good indeed. His talent for making tracks that bounce and excite, that kick-start the party spirit and an irresistible urge to dance, is undeniable. Need proof? Then buy this album.

Buy ‘Greatest Hits – Why Try Harder’ from Amazon

Buy tickets for Fatboy Slim from Ticketmaster.co.uk

From the first, instantly recognisable, notes in ‘Rockafeller Skank’ through the remix work for Groove Armada and Cornershop to the slightly harder (but no less fun) ‘Slash Dot Dash’ or ‘Santa Cruz’ and the new single ‘That Old Pair Of Jeans’ you’ll be unable to keep still; or frown. This is an amazing collection from a true artist.

Label : Skint

Release Date : 19 June 2006

Website : www.fatboyslim.net


  • Rockafeller Skank
  • Praise You
  • Brimful Of Asha (Cornershop)
  • Weapon Of Choice
  • Gangster Trippin’
  • I See You Baby (Groove Armada)
  • Wonderful Night
  • Right Here Right Now
  • Going Out Of My Head
  • Sunset (Bird Of Prey)
  • Everybody Loves A Carnival
  • Don’t Let The Man Get You Down
  • Demons
  • Sho Nuff
  • Slash Dot Dash
  • Santa Cruz
  • Champion Sound
  • That Old Pair Of Jeans
Previous post Mojave 3 – Puzzles Like You (Beggars/4AD)
Next post Nylon – Losing A Friend (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: