Desecration – Process Of Decay

One of the most controversial death metal bands never to have actually killed anyone (and almost certainly the most controversial welsh death metal band ever), Desecration are not ones to hold back. Their first album, Gore & Perversion, put them on the map, in the UK tabloids and through the High Court because of its “explicit and obscene” content. Still, they have carried on and not compromised on anything (they even re-released their debut in 2003, to much less controversy), which probably leads you to wonder what they’ve done for their fifth album.

  • Buy Process Of Decay at Amazon
  • Book tickets at Ticketmaster
  • Well, Process Of Decay is a concept album, listing in graphic detail the process of decay in a human corpse. Nice, huh? But unless you sit down with the lyrics (which are kindly reproduced in the album sleeve) you’ll get little from it but grunting. Underneath the head turning lyrics though, is some truly brutal metal, with thundering riffs that hit you like they’ve been shot out of a cannon.

    Death metal fans may like to know that production on this album was handled by Dan Turner (Napalm Death, Cradle Of Filth, Anathema) and two tracks (Black Putrefaction and Butyric Fermentation) feature guest vocals from Amputated’s Morbid Mark.

    Label: Copro Records
    Release date: 28th March 2005


    1. When The Heart Stops Beating…
    2. Initial Decay
    3. Bacterial Breakdown
    4. Black Putrefaction
    5. Butyric Fermentation
    6. Maggots In Evidence
    7. Corpse Fauna
    8. Dry Rot
    9. Gravewax
    Previous post Cherryfalls – Winter/Winter
    Next post Emetrex – Wish Me Dead

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: