Delays – Faded Seaside Glamour

From Southampton, which the band describe as a place that is “really really average in every way”, comes something that is really really exceptional in every way. The four lads that make up Delays have hit on a magical combination and are a breath of fresh air for rock and pop. In ‘Faded Seaside Glamour’ they have distilled the fresh summer sound of the Beach Boys, mixed it with the jangle of indie guitars, topped it off with blissful keyboards and an infectious beat. You need look no further for your soundtrack to the summer.

Faded Seaside Glamour by Delays
‘Faded Seaside Glamour’ contains a dozen slices of perfect pop; including the previous singles ‘Hey Girl’, ‘Long Time Coming’ and the current single ‘Nearer Than Heaven’. This album is more than a collection of songs padding out a couple of singles; to start with the album opens with the brilliant ‘Wanderlust’ which builds gently from the sunny keyboard refrain and the angelic voice of Giles and sets you up for the rest of the album. There are the beautifully melancholy ‘Bedroom Scene’ and ‘No Ending’ before you reach the jangly rock of ‘You Wear The Sun’. ‘Stay Where You Are’ introduced a little bit of disco punk into the mix with some funky keyboards before the delicate ballads ‘There’s Water Here’ and ‘Satellites Lost’. The album closes, as it starts on the upbeat with ‘One Night Away’ and the danced up rock of ‘On’. Every track from this album could be a single because every one is a winner. ‘Faded Seaside Glamour’ is simply a stunning debut.

If you have not had chance to catch them yet, there are still dates available on the Delays UK tour.


  • 30 Leadmill (Headline) Sheffield


  • 01 King Tuts (Headline) Glasgow
  • 02 University (Headline) Northumbria
  • 05 University (Headline) Liverpool
  • 08 Engine Rooms (Headline) Cardiff
  • 09 Zodiac (Headline) Oxford
  • 11 Waterfront (Headline) Norwich
  • 12 University (Headline) Southampton
  • 13 Astoria (Headline) (SOLD OUT) London
  • 14 Astoria (Headline) London

Book tickets through
Label : Rough Trade RecordsRelease Date : 5 April 2004

Website :


  • Wunderlust
  • Nearer Than Heaven
  • Long Time Coming
  • Bedroom Scene
  • No Ending
  • You Wear The Sun
  • Hey Girl
  • Stay Where You Are
  • There’s Water Here
  • Satellites Lost
  • One Night Away
  • On

Delays are Greg Gilbert (Vocals/Guitar), Aaron Gilbert (Keyboards), Colin Fox (Bass) and Rowley (Drums).

Previous post Múm – Summer Make Good
Next post Automato – Automato

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: