Death From Above 1979 – You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine (CD Review)

Built around just bass and drums Death From Above 1979 manage a full, very full, sound. They are screaming berserkers of pumped up punk rock with a dance twist. The twist is that they manage at times to create a guitar based techno of sorts with the form of dance music but written in an unashamedly extreme rock style. The result is explosive.


Buy You’re a Woman I’m A Machine from

‘You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine’ is a no holds barred trip into some serious noise. From ‘Turn It Out’ right through to ‘Sexy Results’ there next to no drop in the energy as the drum kit is beaten to within an inch of it’s life, the bass is frankly assaulted and above it all there are vocals like Robert Smith with his hair on fire. It is brilliant.

The vigour that is displayed in every song pushes the listener along with every egregious beat and buzz. In the same way that the pace is unremitting so is the quality; I can seriously say that every song could be a single, and an incredible single at that.

There is a second disk to this release that contains some of the B-sides from the singles ‘Blood On Our Hands’ and ‘Romantic Rights’ as well as remixes and reworkings. Amongst these is the cover of Boston punk band La Peste’s ‘Better Off Dead’ that is pure dynamite, the pounding Justice remix of ‘Blood On Our Hands’ and the amazing Erol Alkan mix of ‘Romantic Rights’.

If sedate isn’t in your dictionary, quiet is an alien concept and you think you have the balls you can’t let this album pass you by.

Label : 679

Release Date : 21 February 2005

Website :

Tracklisting CD1

  • Turn It Out
  • Romantic Rights
  • Going Steady
  • Go Home, Get Down
  • Blood On Our Hands
  • Black History Month
  • Little Girl
  • Cold War
  • You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine
  • Pull Out
  • Sexy Results

Tracklisting CD2

  • Better Off Dead
  • Blood On Our Hands (Justice Remix)
  • Do It 93! (Live In Rio)
  • Romantic Rights (Erol Alkan’s Love From Below Re-Edit)
  • Little Girl (Masterkraft Edition)
  • You’re Lovely (But You’ve Got Lots Of Problems)
  • Blood On Our Hands (Video)
  • Romantic Rights (Video)

Death From Above 1979 are Jesse F. Keeler and Sebastien Grainger.

Previous post The Kills – No Wow (CD Review)
Next post Kaiser Chiefs – Oh My God

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: