Death Cab For Cutie – Transatlanticism

This is the fourth album from the Seattle based band Death Cab For Cutie, and the first to receive a simultaneous release on both sides of the Atlantic. You can call it Emo, call it rock, call it what you like but what Death Cab For Cutie create on ‘Transatlanticism’ are slow paced and heartfelt tunes with drums and guitars. Ben Gibbards vocals swoop and murmur through every achingly tragic line while the rest of the band (Chris Walla, Nick Harmer and recent addition Jason McGerr) build tension and exude sensitivity. For myself I believe that too much of a good thing can be a bad thing though and to me this album suffers from being almost completely edgeless; There is no contrast to the misery and sensitive emoting. In the end this can make ‘Transatlanticism’ an annoying experience.

Buy Death Cab For Cutie CDs from Amazon

Label : Fierce Panda

Release Date : 6 October 2003

Website #1 :

Website #2 :


  • The New Year
  • Lightness
  • Title And Registration
  • Expo ’86
  • The Sound Of Settling
  • Tiny Vessels
  • Transatlanticism
  • Passenger Seat
  • Death Of An Interior Decorator
  • We Looked Like Giants
  • A Lack Of Color

  • Previous post Graham Coxon – Bittersweet Bundle Of Misery
    Next post Aurélie – Angel In Ballet Shoes

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: