Cathy Davey – Something Ilk

Written by a self-confessed recluse who claims not to listen to much music, Something Ilk is a fantastic debut by any standard. Cathy Davey’s highly distinctive voice is back up by music worthy of comparison to Graham Coxon, Radiohead and Elbow (whose second album she appeared on as a guest vocalist).


Buy Something Ilk from Amazon

The songs sound sweet but have a bite to them and the sound of the album is aided by Blur and Elbow producer Ben Hillier and his collection of antique Soviet recording equipment. There’s plenty more I could say about Davey and her writing and recording methods but there’s no point really, the music does all the talking necessary. Go and listen to it.

Read more from Indigo Flow

Label: Regal
Release date: 23rd August 2004


  • Come Over
  • Trade Secret
  • Cold Man’s Nightmare
  • Hammerhead
  • Old Man Rain
  • Swing It
  • Yak Yak
  • Go Make It
  • Sugar
  • Holy Moly
  • Save Button
  • About Time
  • Mine For Keeps

Previous post Adzuki – Transitions EP
Next post The Finn Brothers – Everyone Is Here

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: