Calexico – Feast Of Wire

The celebrated duo, Joey Burns and John Convertino, better known as Calexico are back with ‘Feast Of Wire’. What they have created is a blissfully delicious album featuring slow country waltzes, rich soundscapes, and tracks that make hazy the boundaries between country, rock, lounge and even trip hop. Calexico manage to make intricate music that isn’t too ‘busy’, and make music that is sparse without being hollow. The album’s opener ‘Sunken Waltz’, along with ‘Woven Birds’, is a luxurious and mournful country song. While ‘Stucco’ wouldn’t have be out of place on Portishead’s debut and ‘The Book And The Canal’ reminds me of parts of Ludovico Einaudi’s ‘Le Onde’. There is all this variety while keeping a musical theme that means that ‘Feast Of Wire’ never comes across as a compilation.

Many of the tracks are instrumentals, featuring hypnotic slide guitar, ethereal horns, Spanish guitar, synths and more, providing a range of emotional pieces. It is easy to see why magazines from Mojo, X-Ray, Uncut, Musik, and the rest have heaped praise upon this album. Calexico are on tour in the UK and will be playing Glastonbury Festival, click on the link below to get tickets.

Finally I have to say, and I am aware how shallow this is, but how great is ‘Attack El Robot! Attack!’ as a song title…

Label : City Slang

Release Date : Out Now

Website :

Track listing

  • Sunken Waltz
  • Quattro (World Drifts In)
  • Stucco
  • Black Heart
  • Pepita
  • Not Even Stevie Nicks...
  • Close Behind
  • Woven Birds
  • The Book And The Canal
  • Attack El Robot! Attack!
  • Across The Wire
  • Due Latina
  • Güero Canelo
  • Whipping The Horses Eyes
  • Crumble
  • No Doze



Previous post Singing Lions – The Complete & Utter!
Next post Camera Obscura – Underachievers Please Try Harder

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: