Cake – Pressure Chief

Back with their first album in 3 years, we find Cake on top form. As deadpan, exciting and quirky as ever this album opens with Wheels, one of the most traditionally Cake songs, before moving onto the very electronic No Phone.

From there the band mix up styles from the punk 60’s pop of Carbon Monoxide, with it’s chorus of “Where’s the air? Where’s the air?”, the acoustic fuelled The Guitar Man, the folky End Of The Movie to the ambient build of closer Tougher Than It Is.

The vast legion of fans that Cake picked up with their Fashion Nugget and Prolonging The Magic albums are not going to be disappointed with this new offering.

Read more from Indigo Flow
Label: Columbia
Release date: 18th October 2004


  1. Wheels
  2. No Phone
  3. Take It All Away
  4. Dime
  5. Carbon Monoxide
  6. The Guitar Man
  7. Waiting
  8. She’ll Hang The Baskets
  9. End Of The Movie
  10. Palm Of Your Hand
  11. Tougher Than It Is

  • Buy Pressure Chief at Amazon
  • Book tickets at Ticketmaster
  • Previous post Pitchshifter – P.S.I.entology (DVD Review)
    Next post Triosk – Moment Returns (CD Reviews)

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: