Broken Social Scene – Broken Social Scene (CD Review)

Broken Social Scene are a large ensemble of Canadian musicians, may of whom have other projects, whose last album ‘You Forgot It in People’ is credited by some as the release that opened the floodgates for the recent crop Canadian bands to be noticed internationally. Their sound borders on undefinable as the seventeen strong crew rock, croon, undulate, mash up, groove and collage umpteen different styles on their way through a set of tracks that were often fresh creations from jam sessions in studio and their live set.

Buy ‘Broken Social Scene’ from Amazon

The result is amazing in its breadth and the completeness of their sound, wherever it has taken them on the track you are listening to. The music is so richly layered that you can listen and re-listen to the album time and time again and still be picking out new threads and delicate touches. I heartily recommend trying out this album by visiting City Slang and downloading ‘7/4 (Shoreline)’ (click the link below).

7/4 (Shoreline) [MP3]

I have listened to this album a great many times since it arrived and I have always found something to match my mood and to intrigue me. Be sure to hear it.

Label : City Slang

Release Date : 23 January 2006

Website :


  • Our Faces Split The Coast In Half [3:42]
  • Ibi Dreams Of Pavement (A Better Day) [4:27]
  • 7/4 (Shoreline) [MP3] [4:53]
  • Finish Your Collapse And Stay For Breakfast [1:24]
  • Major Label Debut [4:28]
  • Fire Eye’d Boy [3:58]
  • Windsurfing Nation [4:35]
  • Swimmers [2:55]
  • Hotel [4:35]
  • Handjobs For The Holidays [4:39]
  • Superconnected [5:39]
  • Bandwitch [6:58]
  • Tremoloa Debut [0:59]
  • It’s All Gonna Break [9:55]

Broken Social Scene are: Brendan Canning, Kevin Drew, Justin Peroff, Charles Spearin (Do Make Say Think), Andrew Whiteman (Apostle of Hustle), Jason Collett (solo artist), David Newfeld (producer/musician), Leslie Feist, Emily Haines (Metric), James Shaw (Metric), Evan Cranley (Stars), Amy Millan (Stars), Ohad Benchetrit (Do Make Say Think), Martin Davis Kinack, Jo-Ann Goldsmith, Torquil Campbell (Stars), John Crossingham (Raising the Fawn) with guest appearances from Julie Penner (Fembots), Jason Tait (Weakerthans), K-OS, Murray Lightburn (The Dears)

Previous post Cat Power – The Greatest (CD Review)
Next post Clap Your Hands Say Yeah – Clap Your Hands Say Yeah (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: