Brassy – Gettin’ Wise

Two years in the making and hot on the back of the re-release of ‘Play Some D’ (included as a bonus track) the transatlantic four piece comprising Muffin Spencer from New York with Jonny Barrington, Stefan Gordon and Karen Frost from Manchester return. ‘Gettin Wise’ has all the strutting, funked up, guitar blazing, and edgy hip hop that is the trademark of Brassy. As always, it’s the swagger, the confidence and ballsy nature of all the songs that wins you over. You can hear it in every track from the blatantly pop ‘Where Did You Get That Funk?’ to the more edgy ‘Hit ‘Em Hard’ and the brief homage to lounge in ‘Swett’s Muse’. If you fancy some hip hop beats that are not obcessed with guns, bitches and ‘respect’ then Brassy should be your first, and maybe last, stop.
Label : Wiiija

Release Date : 12 May 2003

Website :


  • Hit ‘Em Hard
  • 1-0-0
  • Mine
  • Nobody Cheers Me
  • Feeling Sorry
  • Still Stealing
  • Dus’
  • Where Did You Get That Funk?
  • Swett’s Muse
  • Gettin’ Wise
  • So Long baby
  • Everything You Need
  • Turn This Thing Up
  • Good Place
  • Play Some D (Bonus Track)

  • Previous post Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Take Them On, On Your Own
    Next post British Sea Power – The Decline Of British Sea Power

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: