Brakes – Give Blood (CD Review)

The Brakes have not always impressed me in the past; ‘Give Blood’ has proved me wrong. Contained within the punchy, pithy and passionate half hour are sixteen pocket-sized tunes that contain off-kilter punk, blasting blues and experimental rock. There are excellent covers of the Jesus & Mary Chains ‘Sometimes Always’ and Johnny Cash’s ‘Jackson’ each recast in the Brakes style.

Short and to the point is the key here. There is no fat on these bones and it sounds so much better for them choosing not to pad out these tracks. ‘Give Blood’ is a something to be treasured.

Buy Give Blood from

Buy Give Blood from

Brakes have announced a UK tour in October:

    10 Zodiac Oxford

    11 Barfly Cardiff

    12 Fleece Bristol

    14 Cockpit Leeds

    15 King Tuts Glasgow

    16 Night & Day Manchester (TBC)
    18 Borderline London

Brakes are releasing ‘Ring A Ding Ding’ on 17th October.

Label : Rough Trade

Release Date : 04 July 2005

Website :


  • Ring A Ding Ding
  • NY Pie
  • The Most Fun
  • Heard About Your Band
  • What’s In It For Me?
  • You’ll Always Have A Place To Stay
  • Cheney
  • I Can’t Stand To Stand Beside You
  • Pick Up The Phone
  • You’re So Pretty
  • Jackson (feat. The Duke Spirits Leila Moss)
  • All Night Disco Party
  • Hi How Are You
  • Comma Comma Comma Full Stop
  • Sometimes Always
  • Fell In Love With A Girl

Brakes are Eamon Hamilton (Vocals + guitar, British Sea Power), Tom White (Guitar, The Electric Soft Parade), Marc Beatty (Bass, The Electric Soft Parade) and Alex White (Drums, The Tenderfoot).

Previous post Tuco – The Shrinking Process
Next post The Dawn And Drew Show! (Blogcast Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: