Automato – Walk Into The Light

Automato present a new twist in what is becoming a fine lineage of dance punk innovators from New York. The six of them, with the assistance of Death From Above duo James Murphy and Tim Goldsworthy producing, have added a hip-hop twist to the mix. The result has the trademark staccato guitars punctuating solid rave beats and keyboard interludes. All the while Ben Fries rapping struts above all with sparse samples and scratching complete the picture. The end product has the groove of heavily stoned funk, the eccentricity of punk and a flowing rap that ditches bling bling and adopts a more daisy age approach. Automato are making great sounds you won’t want to miss.

Automato are on tour in the UK in April with more dates to be announced.

    3rd April GLASGOW Barrowlands
    (w/ 2 Many DJs & LCD Sound System)
    5th April LONDON The Scala
    (w/ LCD Soundsystem)

The eponymous debut album by Automato will be released in the UK on April 5th.

Book tickets through

Label : labels

Release Date : 29 March 2004

Website :


  • Walk Into The Light
  • Walk Into The Light (Instrumental)
  • Walk Into The Light (Acappella)
  • Walk Into The Light (Revolutions Remix)
  • Walk Into The Light (Revolutions Instrumental)

Automato are Alex Frankel (keyboards and guitar), Ben Fries (vocals and guitar), Jesse Levine (vocals), Nick Millhiser (drums and triggers), Andrew Raposo (bass) and Morgan Wiley (keyboards).

Previous post The Holiday Plan – The Green Lights EP
Next post Blonde Redhead – Misery Is A Butterfly

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: