Alexander O’Neal – Live at the Hammersmith Apollo (CD Review)

That’s right. One of the massive stars of eighties funk soul disco is releasing a live album of his recent run of dates at Hammersmith Apollo. His style has remained unchanged, and his rapport with the audience of fans remains warm and is well received. The set covers tracks from his early albums and later hits (notably ‘Criticise’).

Buy Live at the Hammersmith Apollo from

Buy Live at the Hammersmith Apollo from

I can’t claim that this got me going, or that I was stunned by the musicianship (which is very good) or Alexander’s voice (which is also very good). However, I was never a fan of the new soul sound that was ubiquitous during the eighties and early nineties. If you were, then this should prove to be a very pleasurable trip down memory lane.

Label : Eminence

Release Date : 04 July 2005

Website : Try Google, he doesn’t seem to have one.

Tracklisting CD1

  • Innocent
  • Hearsay
  • What Can I Say
  • A Broken Heart Can Mend
  • The Lovers
  • All True Man
  • Sentimental

Tracklisting CD2

  • Shame On Me
  • Sunshine
  • Criticise
  • Bedscene
  • If You Were Here Tonight
  • Fake
  • What Is This Thing Called Love?

Previous post Fatboy Slim – Don’t Let The Man (CD Review)
Next post Telepopmusik – Into Everything (CD Review)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: