Mark Lanegan

Mark Lanegan is back! A new ep ‘Here Comes That Weird Chill (Methamphetamine Blues, Extracts and Oddities)’ is released on the 24th November in the UK (9th December in the US), on CD and 10? and heralds the way for the Mark Lanegan Band’s forthcoming new album ‘Bubblegum’, which will be released spring 2004…

Conceived as a single from the forthcoming album, ‘Here Comes That Weird Chill…’ has expanded to an 8 track EP with the inclusion of outtakes from the album sessions – hence, ‘Extras and Oddities’. Such an ‘oddity’ is a cover of Captain Beefheart’s ‘Clear Spot’ and new song ‘Skeletal History’, which was written by Lanegan and his Queens Of The Stone Age band mates Josh Homme and Nick Oliveri, – a particularly stunning ‘extra’. Industrial, chilling and startling, the chain-gang rhythm of title track ‘Methamphetamine Blues’ is Mr Lanegan at his most inspired and inventive. With amazing lead guitar courtesy of the aforementioned Josh Homme, it is a maelstrom of energy, power and soul.

Musical assistance on the EP comes from luminaries including Joshua Homme (genius lead guitar on ‘Metamphetamine Blues’ plus drums, bass and rhythm guitar), Nick Oliveri (background vocals, guitar, drums, bass), Afghan Whig’s Greg Dulli (background vocals), Ween’s Dean Ween (lead guitar), Eleven Also’s Alain Johannes (guitars) and Masters of Reality’s Chris Goss (guitar).

Catch the Mark Lanegan Band live at the following dates


  • 20 – Athens – Gargarin
  • 21 – Thessaloniki – Mylos
  • 23 – Dublin ? The Village
  • 24 – Belfast – Limelight
  • 25 – Glasgow – Cathouse
  • 26 – Manchester ? Academy 3
  • 27 – Birmingham ? Academy 2
  • 28 – London ? Mean Fiddler
  • 30 – Brussels – Botanique


  • 2 – Bologna – Estragon
  • 3 – Milan – Rainbow
  • 5 – Vitoria – Azkenia
  • 6 – Madrid – Caracol
  • 7 – Barcelona – Bikini

    Mark Lanegan fansite
    Beggars Banquet artist section

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: