Max-¯mo Park new album details and tour news

Going MissingNew album: Our Earthly Pleasures (April 2nd)
Single: Our Velocity (March 19th)

Maxïmo Park release their eagerly awaited second album Our Earthly Pleasures through Warp Records on Monday 2nd April. A single Our Velocity is released two weeks earlier on March 19th.

Our Earthly Pleasures was produced by Gil Norton (Pixies / Foo Fighters) and recorded at RAK studios in St Johns Wood during September and October 2006.

Vocalist Paul Smith adds: “Thanks to two years of touring the world and with the contribution of Gil Norton, Our Earthly Pleasures is a heavy, eye-opening record. It’s rock music without the clichés, dealing with the world on an emotional level. Ultimately we want to reach as many people as possible because we feel this record has the ability to inspire and affect people.”

The full tracklisting for the album is:

1. Girls Who Play Guitars
2. Our Velocity
3. Books From Boxes
4. Russian Literature
5. Karaoke Plays
6. Your Urge
7. The Unshockable
8. By The Monument
9. Nosebleed
10. A Fortnight’s Time
11. Sandblasted And Set Free
12. Parisian Skies

Our Earthly Pleasures is the follow-up to Maxïmo Park’s Nationwide Mercury Prize nominated debut album, A Certain Trigger, which delivered four Top Twenty singles including Apply Some Pressure, Graffiti and Going Missing.

2006 was a very busy year for Maxïmo Park: they headlined the NME Awards Tour, headlined the NME/Radio One stage at the Reading & Leeds Festivals, supported the Rolling Stones in Europe, released a DVD Found On Film, headlined a UK tour in September/October and toured China in December.

2007 kicked off with three intimate hometown shows in Newcastle last week, this week the band play Moscow and Istanbul on the 25th and 27th January, respectively, before headlining the Shockwaves NME Awards show on Wednesday 21st February at London’s Astoria, which sold out within minutes of the tickets going on sale. More UK dates will be announced shortly.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: