Kings of Reggae album announced

Cover Art‘Kings of Reggae’ is the 8th installment in a compilation series that grows more ubiquitous with each release. Over 150,000 albums have been sold in a series that brings together globally renowned DJ’s & producers to reveal their favorite tracks in the genre they themselves have become best known for. ‘The Kings of’ albums allow compilers to make choices well beyond the usual restraints imposed on them.

For this volume, compilers David Rodigan (famous Reggae DJ) and Sting International (Shaggy’s producer) have dug deep to bring us some of the genres biggest Reggae tracks and a host of obscure gems. From 70s pioneers Junior Murvin, Jimmy Cliff, John Holt and Desmond Dekker to modern day heroes Yellowman, Echo Minott and Barrington Levy.

Here’s the tracklisting for the compilation:


01 The Abyssinians – Satta Massa Gana
02 Dennis Brown – To The Foundation
03 Aswad – Back To Africa
04 Burning Spear – Marcus Garvey
05 Marcia Griffiths – Dreamland
06 Richie Spice & Chuck Fender – Freedom
07 Gentleman feat. Barrington Levy – Caan Hold Us Down
08 Luciano – Messenger
09 Junior Murvin – Police and Thieves
10 Jimmy Cliff – The Harder They Come
11 John Holt – Police In Helicopter
12 Freddie McGregor – Big Ship

Sting International


01 John Holt – A Love I Can Feel (80s Version)
02 Josey Wales – Mi Have Fi Get You
03 Ranking Dread – Fattie Boom Boom
04 Little John – Work Us So Hard
05 Dennis Brown – Here I come
06 Coco Tea – Informer
07 Sammy Dread – Rude Boy
08 Lone Ranger – M16
09 Yellowman – Over Me
10 Tenor Saw – Roll Call
11 Toyan – Stylee
12 Anthony Red Rose – Tempa
13 Echo Minott – Lazy Body
14. Baby Cham – Boom
15. Shaggy feat. Rayvon – The Shaggy and Rayvon Show
16. Dennis Brown – Caress Me Girl

Watch David Rodigan in action:

More info on David Rodigan:

More info on Sting International:

Check out the e-card…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.